The DELAMAN Award recognizes and honours junior scholars who have done outstanding documentary work in creating a rich multimedia documentary collection of a particular language that is endangered or no longer spoken. The language documentation collection must be archived and made accessible in a DELAMAN archive (with no or only minimal access restrictions).

Nominations should include the following:

  • Name and email address of the collector
  • Name and email address of the nominator (if different — self-nomination is permitted)
  • Location of the collection (name of the DELAMAN archive)
  • Link to the collection (URL or persistent identifier)
  • Language(s) documented in the collection (including ISO 639-3 codes)
  • Brief description of the contents / coverage of the collection, including types of documentation; genre; size of collection (hours/minutes of audio video); amount (hours/minutes) and level of  transcription, translation & annotations (< 500 words)
  • If the collection is part of a larger group project clearly indicate which part of the collection was created by the nominee (< 250 words)
  • Explanation of the significance of the collection, identifying what makes the collection an outstanding example of an archival endangered language collection (< 500 words)
  • CV of the collector

If awarded, the applicant commits to writing a guide to the collection following Caballero (2017) and Salffner (2015).

To be eligible, the documentary collection must be archived in a DELAMAN archive and provide rich audio and video documentation, keywords, comprehensive metadata, and explanatory material or guides, as well as transcription, translation and annotation of a subset of the collection.

The next DELAMAN award will be awarded in 2021.

Previous award winners:

2017: Sonja Riesberg

2019: Michael Franjieh – Franjieh’s (2019) guide to his collection is available from