DELAMAN Franz Boas Award

DELAMAN’s Franz Boas Award recognizes and honours junior scholars (for the 2019 award a Ph.D. awarded January 1, 2013 or later; early career documenters employed less than 5 years) who have done outstanding documentary work in creating a rich multimedia documentary collection of a particular language that is endangered or no longer spoken. The language documentation collection must be archived and made accessible in a DELAMAN archive (with no or only minimal access restrictions).

To nominate a collection complete the online nomination form

Nominations should include the following:

  • Name and email address of the collector
  • Name and email address of the nominator (if different — self-nomination is permitted)
  • Location of the collection (name of the DELAMAN archive)
  • Link to the collection (URL or persistent identifier)
  • Language(s) documented in the collection (including ISO 639-3 codes)
  • Brief description of the contents / coverage of the collection, including types of documentation; genre; size of collection (hours/minutes of audio video); amount (hours/minutes) and level of  transcription, translation & annotations (< 500 words)
  • If the collection is part of a larger group project clearly indicate which part of the collection was created by the nominee (< 250 words)
  • Explanation of the significance of the collection, identifying what makes the collection an outstanding example of an archival endangered language collection (< 500 words)
  • CV of the collector

Submission deadline for nominations: July 15, 2018

The award is subject to approval by the DELAMAN board members and will be announced by October 2018.

If awarded, the applicant commits to writing a guide to the collection following Caballero (2017) and Salffner (2015).

The award consists of a payment of US$500. In addition, the International Conference on Language Documentation and Conservation (ICLDC) will cover airfare and on-campus lodging up to a maximum of US$1500 to bring the awardee to Honolulu for the 2019 conference to receive the award.

To be eligible, the documentary collection must be archived in a DELAMAN archive and provide rich audio and video documentation, keywords, comprehensive metadata, and explanatory material or guides, as well as transcription, translation and annotation of a subset of the collection.

The first DELAMAN Franz Boas award has been given to Sonja Riesberg in 2017 for her work on the CELD corpus, see the statement from the selection panel here.